The “IT” Factor

We don’t get out much.  We visit the drive-thru’s of the local fast food places and bring the food home. That’s about the extent of our social interactions. I can leave my hubby alone for about an hour and a half at a time. That’s enough time for me to get groceries and get back home. I recently came to the conclusion, that I needed a break (real bad).

I arranged for a home health aide to come to the house for 8 whole hours so I could take the day off.  My two fabulous sisters took me to town. We walked around the town square looking at the shops.  We then had lunch at a real sit down restaurant. It was so wonderful to have a nice lady wait on ME and bring ME food. We had a great lunch and then got spa pedicures. It was a great day and a welcome break.

I had about an hour before I had to be back at home, so I got a chocolate milkshake at the Dairy Queen and sat on a swing watching the ducks at a local park. It was nice to sit alone and be reflective before going home to reality. Somehow, I was refreshed. Maybe it was the chocolate milkshake. Maybe it was the pedicure. Maybe it was laughing with my sisters. I don’t know what the “IT” was. I do know that little break was all I needed.

I love my hubby and I’ll do this as long as necessary because I’m all he’s got. We are spouses in a caregiving marriage. Even when the embers of love glow dimly in the darkness of caregiving, it’s the only light we need to see. In the darkness of your own caregiving world, I hope you can find whatever the “IT” is that gives you strength to endure. I wish you Peace…Love…and a chocolate milkshake.

2 thoughts on “The “IT” Factor

  1. I saw the comment you left me on the post I made about being a stay-at-home wife and caring for my grandparents, so I couldn’t help but come and read your blog. I love this post. Although I can relate somewhat to what you’re going through, I can’t relate completely because I don’t watch someone who requires around the clock care. You have a lot of strength to do what you do. Sometimes you just have to get away, even if it’s for a few minutes. I am glad that you were able to get a break. I want a chocolate milkshake now, though – LOL.

    Like

  2. Thanks for your sweet comment, Annie. We probably have a lot in common (including a love for chocolate milkshakes!). Just saw your post about a vacation. When I have a few minutes, I want to sit down and read about it so I can pretend I’m on vacation, too! Love the pictures. Glad you were able to get away. We must take care of ourselves first so we can take care of others. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

