Looking out my window

 

Watching life from my cell

The TV is my window

The sofa is my cot

 

Commercials I sing along with

The jingles I know

The lyrics are an old friend

 

Three times each day comes late breaking news

The reporters still look the same

Only the suits have changed

 

The mailman drops by each day

The diversion is welcome

The utility bills are not

 

The daily routine is the daily job

I clean him, feed him, and hold the urinal

The monotony is ever present

 

And so I sit and watch others live

In my previous life, there was living

But now my life is spousal caregiving

 

I can’t go far because I’m needed at home

Doing what must be done for both of us

Loving a man because he keeps loving me

Leave a Reply

