A Non-Valentine Valentine’s Day

Valentine’s Day is a day set apart for celebrating love shared with friends and family. For many, it is a day to receive red roses, fine chocolates, and big stuffed animals. Couples will go out for fancy dinners to celebrate the beautiful love they share. It’s a magical holiday to celebrate.

Caregiving couples may have a slightly different expectation. Holidays are not much different from any other day. Society will offer recommendations on what gifts should be purchased. Social norms just don’t seem to matter as much when the priorities change. We don’t exchange the normal gifts of Valentine’s Day. When circumstances dictate the norm, you make things up as you go along. It’s the little things that make life special and meaningful.  Thankfully, Love does not care if we are not socially acceptable. Love does not boast and Love is not proud.

We celebrate our love with a spiritual intimacy when we see each other smile. I remember why I love him when he looks at me. Our laughter is contagious. Laughter is an infection that I love to get from him. His heart lives inside my chest and our souls are as one.

On this Valentine’s Day, I visited the Wal-Mart for a few supplies. I saw the aisles of gifts, cards, and assorted Valentine’s merchandise in every shade of red. I saw the people dashing around looking for something to purchase that would prove their love for someone. I purchased my assortment of non-Valentine products that included breakfast cereal, body soap, cough drops, and a watch battery. When I got back home with my Wal-Mart goodies, I showed my husband what I had purchased. I reached in a bag and presented him with his favorite watch that now runs with a newly installed battery from Wal-Mart.

“I got you a new battery for your watch”, I say.
“I love you.”, he says.

“I’ll have the swedish meatball frozen dinner for supper tonight.”, he says.
“Okay, I’ll have the turkey and dressing frozen dinner”, I say.

We are a caregiving couple. We are taking care of each other.  He doesn’t need to take me out for a fancy Valentine’s Day dinner. I have all I need right here at home.

Via Daily Prompt: Expectation

Embed from Getty Images
Leave a Reply

