Time Flies

When I was young, I would hear people say, “The older you get, the faster time flies”. As an impatient young adult, I could not understand this phrase. It sounds like something a senior citizen would say. The passage of time is always slow to the young who are impatient to achieve the next big milestone. Perhaps you remember being that young, too.

Everything seems to speed up with the passage of time. Babies become small children. Those same children graduate high school in the blink of an eye. The very people that you watched settle down and get married just a seemingly short time ago, are now talking about their grandchildren. The friends you made in high school now have children that are teenage carbon copies of their parents. Perhaps you have experienced this, too.

At some point, everyone gets a lesson on the brevity of life. The passing of a parent or friend forces a confrontation about our own life. We mark time with the passing of famous people that seemed immortal in how their lives influenced us. For me, those famous people were Glenn Fry, David Bowie, and Prince. As the pace of life continues to quicken, we start to re-evaluate where we are and where we believe we should be. For me, it was the realization (and denial) that I am old enough to be eligible for AARP benefits. Perhaps you have had a similar realization, too.

There are many things that are yet undone in my life. As I am able and if I am fortunate to continue living well into my senior years, I plan to be the crazy old lady every family should have. I will be the old lady yelling with delight while riding a zip line.

While I am currently the busy and frazzled full-time caregiver for loved ones, my life is not over. And I am now the resident expert in the meaning of the phrase, “The older you get, the faster time flies”. The lesson is clear. Life is short and it goes by quick. Take advantage of your time here. Do the things that bring you happiness and be the person you wish to be.

Via Daily Prompt:  Quicken

Embed from Getty Images
One thought on “Time Flies

Leave a Reply

