Not Alone

One of the best things to happen this past year, is the opportunity to write and record my caregiving experiences. I have been “blogging” for just a few months and it has become a tool of therapy for me. I love to write and between the caregiving tasks, I am exploring this more. People have been kind to me and I am appreciative of the people that follow this blog and comment. It is another means of social interaction that keeps me connected to life.

Another good thing to come out of this experience is the confidence in my abilities to manage the two men who live with me. Obviously, no one goes to school to learn how to dress your husband or give him a sponge bath. No one goes to school to learn how to interact and be attentive to the many needs of a 90 year old father-in-law. It has been a crash course in learning each new skill. I have learned so much and have realized that I am capable of handling a lot more than I ever imagined.

Many caregivers feel very isolated. They don’t have opportunities for social interactions and friends seem to disappear quickly. I understand these feelings completely. Despite all it’s challenges, the internet is a great resource for people with common interests to share information. If you are on this caregiving journey as I am, you have found a kindred spirit in me. You are not alone. I wish you peace. I wish you hope. I wish you strength.

Via Daily Prompt: Β Record

9 thoughts on “Not Alone

  1. When I became a caregiver, I also found kindred spirits through blogging. For all the garbage that’s on the internet, there is just as much good — maybe even more. I’m glad you decided to blog.

    Like

    1. Thanks, Sally! Yes, blogging has been a great way to meet fellow caregivers and there are so many good people sharing great stories! Hope you have a good caregiving day! πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. I absolutely understand the isolation feelings….Thank God for the internet…If I were doing this 24/7 Care-giving in the country where we raised our family I would be curled up crying each and every night. I have been blogging for almost 1 year and love writing as often as possible.

    Like

Leave a Reply

