Caregiving Luck

How do you as a caregiver define luck?

How do you accept the hardship of spousal caregiving?  When the dealer of fate deals you a tough hand in the poker game of life, how do you even begin to consider yourself lucky? How do you look for the bright side? Does your faith tell you that God is always in control of a hard situation? Am I pre-destined somehow to be a spousal caregiver?

I am a glass half-full person. I try to see the totality of my situation and decide for myself how I can identify the good aspects. I choose to dwell on the good parts that I can control without dwelling on the hard parts that cannot be changed.

I choose to believe less in luck and more on the positive power of life. When my husband has a really bad day and pronounces himself as “unlucky”, it is a dangerous thing. It creates excessive doubt in his own abilities and undermines future progress. As much as I would like, I cannot change the situation that we live in. I can only offer hope and encouragement to reinforce my love for him. Ultimately, I will stand by him until the end. There won’t be much luck involved. It will be us and our love for each other and a trust in God that gets us to the end of this life.

I refuse to believe that fate stamps you either “unlucky” or “lucky”. Whatever your situation is, I hope you will identify the positive parts in it and try to overlook the negative parts as much as possible. Seek help if you need it. It’s not luck or even the dealer of fate. It’s the power of a special person and an awesome caregiver being a positive influence in the life of a loved one.

Via Daily Prompt:  Luck

Embed from Getty Images

 

2 thoughts on “Caregiving Luck

  1. Good post (and nice use of the prompt.) 🙂 For us luck is when my husband is able to attend a family get together. So often when there is any planned event he has a day when the pain is so severe he cannot walk, or he has a migraine

    Like

    1. I totally understand. Caregiving is full of disappointing days when we’re unable to do the things we wish to do. Glad you found my blog. Thanks for commenting. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

